2022 conference AGENDA

The 2022 conference agenda focuses on innovative strategy development for the improved use, recovery, and recycling of water in oil and gas production, and addresses issues sounding increased seismographic activity in the Permian Basin.

For the full 2022 Permian Basin Water In Energy Conference Agenda click here.


2022 schedule rundown

The 2022 conference begins the evening of Tuesday, February 22 and runs through Thursday, February 24. Here’s the rundown of the schedule.

Tuesday, February 22, 2022

Welcome Reception photo

Welcome Reception
The Petroleum Museum
6:00 p.m. – 9:00 p.m.


Conference Sessions
Midland County Horseshoe
8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.

Lunch-with-Keynote-Speaker-Charles-Perry photo

Lunch with Keynote Speaker
Senator Charles Perry, Texas Senate District 28

Midland County Horseshoe
12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m.

Dinner with Keynote Speaker
Commissioner Christi Craddick, Texas Railroad Commission

The Petroleum Club
6:00 p.m. – 9:00 p.m.

Dinner-with-Keynote-Speaker photo


Conference Sessions photo

Conference Sessions
Midland County Horseshoe
8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.

Lunch with Keynote Speaker
Ben Shepperd, Permian Basin Petroleum Association President

Midland County Horseshoe
12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m.

Photo of Ben Shepperd speaking at the 2020 Permian Basin Water In Energy Conference

Session speakers

• Austin Beam, ConocoPhillips Permian Water Integration Manager
• Dr. Steve Beach, The University of Texas Permian Basin College of Business Dean
• Kelly Bennett, B3 Insight Co-Founder & CEO
• Tracee Bentley, Permian Strategic Partnership CEO
• Richard Brantley, University Lands Senior VP Operations
• Amanda Brock, Aris Water President & CEO
• Cody Comiskey, Chevron Earth Sciences Advisor
• Heather DeShon, SMU Department of Earth Sciences Chair
• Deborah Dixon, New Mexico Produced Water Research Consortium Fellow
• Kirk Edwards, Latigo Petroleum President & CEO
• Steve Melzer, Melzer Consulting Owner
• Joe Niederhofer, Diamondback Energy Senior VP of Midstream Operations
• David Ross, EPA Office of Water former Assistant Administrator
• Dr. James Rosenblum, Colorado School of Mines Water Technology Hub Director
• Matthias Sayer, NGL Energy Partners Senior VP of Legal & Regulatory Affairs
• Todd Staples, Texas Oil & Gas Association President
• Dr. Ray Perryman, Perryman Group President & CEO
• Doug White, NGL Energy Partners Executive Vice President

Session topics

• Water Plans on State and Private Lands
• Exploring New Opportunities for Handling Produced Water
• Sourcing Entities: Advantages and Challenges
• Reservoir Depressuring and Produced Fluid Handling
• Other Large Volume Injectants: Water and CO2 in Enhanced Oil Recovery
• Impact of ESG on Business and Investment Strategy
• Climate Change, Federal Policy, and the Oil & Gas Industry
• Alterative Uses For Produced Water
• Implications of Operator Liability
• Comparative Land Use and Externalities of Gas, Nuclear, Wind & Solar Power Generation
• Gaining Better Understanding of Earthquakes in the Permian Basin
• Impact of Water Use in Oil & Gas in Texas
• Strategies and Opportunities for Water Reuse
• Continuing Education – Ethics

continuing Education credits available

 The Permian Basin Water In Energy Conference is approved for 7 RL, RPL, or CPL recertification credits along with 1 Ethics credit,
for a total of 8 CEUs
by the AAPL.

Attendees will need to submit this affidavit of attendance to receive the credit.

Student poster competition

The PBWIEC includes a student poster competition! The poster competition is open to undergraduate and graduate students. It is sponsored by Elevation Resources, with a total of $6,000 in scholarship prizes awarded to the competition winners. Poster applications must be submitted by Friday, February 11, 2022. Students then bring their final poster presentations with them to the conference. Posters will be judged by a panel on Wednesday, February 23. Winners will be announced, and scholarship award checks presented, on the morning of Thursday, February 24.

Click here for the complete list of rules, awards, and application form.

2020 poster contest photo
2020 poster content winner