Tuesday, February 28, 2023

Welcome Reception
UT Permian Basin College of Engineering Building
11105 W Hwy 191, Midland, TX 79705
5:30 – 8:00 p.m.

Wednesday, march 1, 2023

Day 1 Conference Sessions
Midland County Horseshoe
2514 Arena Trail, Midland, TX 79701
7:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

Keynote Dinner featuring – Mike Sommers, API President & CEO
The Petroleum Club of Midland
501 W Wall St, Midland, TX 79701
6:00 – 9:00 p.m.

thursday, march 2, 2023

Day 2 Conference Sessions
Midland County Horseshoe
2514 Arena Trail, Midland, TX 79701
7:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

Staying the night? Discounted Room Rates are available at the following hotels:

Doubletree by Hilton – Midland Plaza
Odessa Marriott

Keynote speaker


President & CEO, American Petroleum Institute

Mike Sommers is the 15th  chief executive of the American Petroleum Institute (API), the largest trade association representing all aspects of America’s natural gas and oil industry.

Since his appointment in July 2018, Sommers has overseen the strategic realignment of API’s priorities and advocacy efforts, introducing an integrated organizational structure and core API Principles. Among other initiatives, he led the organization through an unprecedented period in global energy markets, effectively positioned the industry through political transitions in Washington and in state capitols across the country, increased utilization and visibility of API standards and safety programs, and led the adoption of the industry’s solutions-oriented efforts to address the risks of climate change…read more.


Featured speakers

Aziz Azivy, Ph.d.

Environmental Associate,
ExxonMobil Biomedical Sciences, Inc.

Steve Beach, Ph.d.

Dean of the College of Business,
The University of Texas Permian Basin

Tracee Bentley

President & CEO,
Permian Basin Strategic Partnership

Kelly Bennett

Co-Founder & CEO,
B3 Insight

Richard Brantley

Senior Vice President of Operations,
University Lands

Scott Conley

Senior Vice President of Commercialization,

Robert Crain

Executive Vice President,
Texas Pacific Water Resources

Whitney Dobson

Vice President of Beneficial Reuse,

Paul Dubois

Assistant Director of Technical Permitting, Oil & Gas Division,
Railroad Commission of Texas

John Durand

Vice Chairman,


Infinity Water Solutions

Adam Friedman

McElroy, Sullivan, Miller & Weber L.L.P

Lee Fuller

Officer of Environment and General Strategy,
Independent Petroleum Association of America

Enrique Garcia

Production Manager,

Philip Gleckman, PH.D.


Chris Harich, PH.D.

Chief Operations Officer,

Trevor Gleisner

Supervisor Emissions Control,
Diamondback Energy

hichem hadjeres

Produced Water Program Manager,
U.S. Department of Energy Office of Fossil Energy and Carbon Management

Ryan Hall

Director of Technical Operations,
NGL Energy Partners

Michele Harmon, ed.D.

Business Lecturer,
The University of Texas Permian Basin

Jake Hendricks

Senior Director of Business Development,
Renovo Resources

Jason G. Herman

Program Manager for Ground Water Quality Bureau, New Mexico Environment Department

Mike Hightower

Program Director,
New Mexico Produced Water Research Consortium

Zacariah Hildenbrand, PH.D.

Research Professor,
The University of Texas El Paso

Stefan Hussenoeder

Geoscience Technology Advisor,

Shelby Landgraf

Director of Community Engagement,
The University of Texas Permian Basin

Emily LindLey

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality

Katie Lewis, Ph.d.

Associate Professor, Texas A&M AgriLife Research

Brady Murphy

President & CEO,
TETRA Technologies

Natasha Martin

Graves, Dougherty Hearon & Moody

Rick McCurdy

VP of Innovation & Sustainability, Select Energy Services

Jon Moeller

Operations Project Manager,

Steven Pruett

President & CEO,
 Elevation Resources LLC

Brooke Paup

Texas Water Development Board

Mark Phan

Permian Commercial Manager,

James Rosenblum, PH.D.

Research Assistant Professor,
Colorado School of Mines

robert Rubey

Co-Founder & CCO, Goodnight Midstream

Rusty Smith

Executive Director,
Texas Produced Water Consortium

ben shepperd

Permian Basin Petroleum Association

Sam Sledge

CEO & Director,
ProPetro Services

Katie Smye, Ph.D.

Research Associate,
UT Bureau of Economic Geology – Center for Integrated Seismicity Research

Becky Spurlock, ph.d.

Senior Vice President for Student Affairs & Enrollment Management,
The University of Texas Permian Basin

Paul Tough

McElroy, Sullivan, Miller & Weber L.L.P

Alan Van Reet

Sr. Operations Manager for Water Management, Pioneer Natural Resources

Ben Warden

Water Management Supervisor, Diamondback Energy

sandra woodley, ph.d.

The University of Texas Permian Basin

max wright

Shafer, Davis, O’Leary & Stoker, P.C. 

Miguel Zamarripa-Perez, Ph.D.

Sr. Research Engineer & Pareto Dev Lead,
National Energy Technology Laboratory

Student poster competition

The annual Water In Energy Conference includes a student poster competition complete with scholarship prizes! This year we’ve doubled our scholarship awards, thanks to our generous sponsor Elevation Resources. The first place undergraduate and graduate student winner will each walk away with a $2,500 scholarship check. The deadline to apply is February 24, 2023. Click here to review the application process.

2020 poster contest photo
2020 poster content winner

Continuing Education Credits

The Permian Basin Water in Energy Conference is approved by the AAPL for 9 CEUs:

  • 8 RL, RPL, or CPL recertification credits
  • 1 Ethics credit
  • Attendees will need to submit this affidavit of attendance to receive the credit.